ON TIME & ENERGY

AS A HUSBAND AND FATHER, few things seem to merit much use of the above two topics of this title: TIME & ENERGY. It seems to me, someone of these roles should carefully safeguard how they are using these two key elements of their daily lives. I spend T & E on my family, but I don’t believe I could ever over exhaust my appreciation for Christina and  seriously doubt I could ever play too hard with Lincoln for his 2 year old liking.

HAVING NO FUN AT ALL

Still further, as a Christian: I know I will never know more of God than I need, seek more of his will than I ought, or carry out more of his work than He will give me the strength to.

So I need to better safe guard the use of these daily elements. Man up. Don’t pursue things of your inherited nature. Rest in God’s promises and spend your time & energy: wisely. A pep-talk from the sideline, maybe, but I need it often. I need to be reminded to wisely use my time and energy, to keep from wasting it in vain pursuit.

TONIGHT, Lincoln & I spent some T & E together bicycle riding. From the picture you can see he had no fun at all. I absolutely love to see these looks of ‘what’s next’ in his eyes. Many treasures attributed to parenthood can’t begin to rank up next to that one natural reaction. But it takes time and energy. And I would never have the patience if God were not supplying it.

Here is my hope to consider:

Now you, brothers, like Isaac, are children of promise. But just as at that time he who was born according to the flesh persecuted him who was born according to the Spirit, so also it is now. But what does the Scripture say? “Cast out the slave woman and her son, for the son of the slave woman shall not inherit with the son of the free woman.” So, brothers, we are not children of the slave but of the free woman.

Galatians 4:28-31

I pray God gives me the strength to act as a child of the free woman, and spend my time and energy as such. Tonight, Lincoln had no problem letting me.

    • Shari and Jose
    • August 26th, 2010

    So needed to hear that, Michael. I always feel that I have to be busy busy doing something. But I guess it is more important what I am putting my energy into then just doing it for the sake of using energy. I do believe that we can never spend too much time with our kids. I am blessed to get to have so much time with Bekah and I need to make sure I am putting in quality time. I know exactly what you mean about the look on the face. That alone should make it worth it for me to (read to her, be in the hammock, swing, go for a walk in her stroller, sing to her, etc.).

    • Mom
    • August 27th, 2010

    Michael, I am so proud of you! You are a wonderful and devoted husband and father> The time and energy you spend with Lincoln (when I’m sure you are tired in the evenings) will be etched in his mind forever as beautiful child hood memories. You can’t purchase that in a store. Love, Mom #2

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

